a 5K…for real…

January 20, 2012 at 11:41 am 1 comment

I went and did it. I signed up for a 5k, though admittedly, the more I read about various races in the greater Houston area, this one seems rather timid. Of course that is what makes it perfect for me. There is a 10k that is an official qualifier for the Houston marathon which is chip timed. But the 5K is a fun run, so low key in its officiousness.

To train for this event, I have set a goal of walking at Knob Hill Park 3x a week minimum. The track there is .63 miles so not at all too challenging. The path is around a good size park with a big play station in the middle and there is a path through the middle of the park too, so it will be easy to add more distance which is what I will do next. I will do a loop and a half for a week or two and then two loops and so on.

Our company’s annual conference is next week so that is usually a lot of walking also. I was thinking I might fall behind on the walking but upon further consideration, I will likely get in more than is normal.

I am still trying to get a good read on what normal is with my fitbit. I wasn’t getting a consistent number of steps so I have lowered my daily goal and right now it is 3500. Once I am consistent with that I will raise it to 5000 and I think that will happen 2/1, so relatively soon. I am trying hard to not take it too slow and easy and balance that with not doing too much to where I just stop doing it. Crafting a new normal balance is a challenge.

In part, this is why I signed up for the 5k. I have no delusions about becoming an athlete as many on the fitness path seem to find. I just want to be healthier. That’s all.

I have been going down a floor to use the bathroom at work and I take the stairs when I come back. The recovery time once I sit at my desk again is pretty immediate, so as of 2/1 I will also take that up a notch and start using the bathroom down on the 4th floor.

Baby steps.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

As 2011 comes to a close… With a 5k on the horizon…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Deborah  |  January 22, 2012 at 9:39 pm

    Baby steps. Slow and steady. Consistency. So excited for your race and the training.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

