Let’s just put it out there

September 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm 6 comments

I am three days away from my 47th birthday which somehow seems serendipitous for launching my intention for a three year journey. I want to be fit by fifty. There. I said it. Out loud, even. Let’s be clear, fit doesn’t mean thin. I can’t imagine I will ever be thin. Ever. I am also not big on traditional exercise. Just. Don’t. Like it. It is, however, well past time to take action.

I have been feeling this strong urge to get serious about this for much of the last year. Small changes have been happening that frankly, don’t amount to anything more than moving in the proper direction. Slow progress, but progress none the less, and I’ll take it. I need to get serious about my health while I still feel I am able. I don’t want to see decline ever, but I know it will come sooner rather than later if I don’t do something now.

I have a lot of fears around this journey, and I am hoping that blogging the process will help me work it all out and find a more fit me. I have some lofty and ambitious goals during this journey, but more on that in a future post (a little of that fear I mentioned creeping in here). One of the most important things I know about myself, I do better with some kind of accountability. I am hoping that putting it out here will be just what I need to make it happen.

Here goes everything (an important edit from Patti Digh!).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Where was the wisdom?

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. elizabeth  |  September 8, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    but really… here comes everything

    Reply
  • 2. Alisha  |  September 8, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    Great idea to blog this, Maxine. I’m looking forward to reading it!

    Reply
  • 3. kmb524@aol.com  |  September 8, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Weight watchers can help if you work the program…
    I am starting over because I am over 200lbs now.
    Kathy

    Reply
  • 4. fattofitbyfifty  |  September 8, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    KMae,
    I have done WW and had success. Elizabeth and I were just talking about it actually. I think what works for me at WW is the accountability. That is what this blog is all about actually. I am hoping to not have to go pay $$ because I would rather pay the $$ for a yoga class right now. If I get to a point where I feel it isn’t working without WW, I would definitely do it again.

    Reply
  • 5. Deborah  |  September 8, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    WooHoo…I’m woohoo-ing for two reasons. 1. I remembered (and you’ll see tomorrow (I think, hope) 🙂 2. love this i’dear. I had (am still on actually) a similiar thought, journey, goal, etc., I’m fitter now that I was then and getting fitter every (other –snicker) day.

    Thin…naaaah overrated (though, thin(ner) is a by-product-win/win.
    But, FIT? HECK YEAH!! Mind. Body. Soul. Fit. Go on with your bad self.

    Looking forward to reading all about it. And being continousouly inspired.

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa  |  September 8, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    I’ve been feeling much the same way, Maxine. Good for you for taking on this challenge! I look forward to seeing your progress. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2011
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

